Skip to content

Once Upon a Time in Zombieville

November 30, 2016

zombies

So, at the 11th hour – 2016 hath delivered! I’m writing a serial radio comedy drama for BBC Schools Radio! WOO HOO!! Isn’t that great!? Yes. It is. It really is.

I’m working with great people in Glasgow and Toronto!

Here’s a proper adult article about it.

What can I add? It’s going to have as many scares as we can have for sensitive 6 year olds, and as many laughs as a teacher can cope with and I’ll try to tick all my National Curriculum boxes (yes, BBC Learning is footing the bill, so what do you expect? But, hey! I’m a veteran writer with BBC Learning – everyone can rest easy). Needless to say, it’s an impossible balancing act of trying to do everything ~ so, I’m just going to focus on our two lovely lead characters and joining them on their thrill ride.

Zombies!!! Yes. I’ll be doing my own take on the hugely successful horror genre, and let me warn ye, I’ll be doing a wry Fortean take on the Zombie genre – making it far closer to the original Haitian Folklore. It’s gonna be good people! It’s gonna be good!

The one thing it won’t be – is so awfully miserablist. Zombie films usually end with everybody dying. I hate those films. Even if this wasn’t a comedy and it wasn’t for children, I still would never write a story without hope.

For my money, the finest Zombie films aren’t even films – they’re the Resident Evil Computer Games for the Playstation & XBox. Remember the first one? Oh. It. Was. Perfect. Perfect. Perfect.

And you even got to win in the end.

We all need to win in the end.

Just remember that 2016. 

And here’s to hoping that 2017 will be better!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. captaingravitron permalink
    November 30, 2016 10:50 am

    2017 will be better.

    • November 30, 2016 5:08 pm

      Yeah! I really hope so! Let’s think positive (because there ain’t no point in thinking otherwise!)

Leave a Reply

